The roles of the BC Association of Police Boards are to:  promote the public’s understanding of police boards and their role in the community; develop, foster and guide police services in an informed and progressive manner for the benefit of our communities and our police services; develop and maintain the highest standards of professionalism and accountability on the part of police boards in British Columbia in the performance of their duties; and to liaise with the Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General on policing issues.



The British Columbia Association of Police Boards (BCAPB) is a provincial non-profit association formed in 1992 to facilitate the exchange of information and provide educational opportunities to members, municipal police boards, including First Nations and Designated Policing governing authorities.

There are two classes of members, Full Members, a police board as defined in the British Columbia Police Act, and Associate Members, any public body or non-profit association that is not a police board, but is engaged in policing, law enforcement, public safety, crime prevention, justice, governance or related activities, including any local police Advisory Committee.

As a member of the BCAPB, your police governing authority will receive access to the “Members Only” section of the BACPB website, which offers access to a catalogue of resource material that can be ordered free of charge, access to educational seminars held throughout the year for all police board members and orientation seminars for new police board members at no cost to members, BCAPB special project documentation, a members’ directory, and access to Executive meeting agendas and minutes, and more.

The BCAPB holds an Annual Conference each year, which provides educational and learning opportunities for board members.  The 2018 Conference was co-hosted by the Central Saanich and Victoria and Esquimalt Police Boards in April 2018.


BCAPB Executive Board 2018-19

Name Respresenting
Mary Collins, President Saanich Police Board
John Rizzuti, Vice-President Central Saanich Police Board
Roxanne Helme, Q.C., Treasurer Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board
Terry Hawes, Secretary Port Moody Police Board
Aman Gill, Director Abbotsford Police Board
Pip Steele, Director Delta Police Board
Am Naqvi, Director Nelson Police Board
Baj Puri, Director New Westminster Police Board
Nils Jensen, Chair Oak Bay Police Board
Rebecca Barley, Director Stl’atl’imx Tribal Police Board
Mark Reder, Director South Coast BC Transportation Authority Police Board
Claire Marshall, Director Vancouver Police Board
Marcus Wong, Director West Vancouver Police BoardBoard
Bill Reid Past President