The roles of the BC Association of Police Boards are to: promote the public’s understanding of police boards and their role in the community; develop, foster and guide police services in an informed and progressive manner for the benefit of our communities and our police services; develop and maintain the highest standards of professionalism and accountability on the part of police boards in British Columbia in the performance of their duties; and to liaise with the Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General on policing issues.


The British Columbia Association of Police Boards (BCAPB) is a provincial non-profit association formed in 1992 to facilitate the exchange of information and provide educational opportunities to members, municipal police boards, including First Nations and Designated Policing governing authorities.

There are two classes of members, Full Members, a police board as defined in the British Columbia Police Act, and Associate Members, any public body or non-profit association that is not a police board, but is engaged in policing, law enforcement, public safety, crime prevention, justice, governance or related activities, including any local police Advisory Committee.

The BCAPB holds an Annual Conference each year, which provides educational and learning opportunities for board members. The 2019 Conference will be co-hosted by the Abbotsford and Port Moody Police Boards from April 4-6, 2019 at the Harrison Hot Springs Resort.


Name Representing
Charla Huber, President Victoria Esquimalt Police Board
Patricia Barnes, Vice-President Vancouver Police Board
Angela Kaiser, Secretary Delta Police Board
Am Naqvi, Treasurer Nelson Police Board
Mark Warkentin, Director Abbotsford Police Board
Vacant, Director New Westminster Police Board
Kevin Murdoch, Director Oak Bay Police Board
Mary Collins, Director Saanich Police Board
Murray Dinwoodie, Director South Coast BC Transportation Authority Police Board
Rebecca Barley, Director Stl’atl’imx Tribal Police Board
Cheney Cloke, Director Surrey Police Board
Dave Fox, Director Port Moody Police Board
Wendy MacDonald, Director Central Saanich Police Board
Peter Gibson, Director West Vancouver Police Board